21 in ’21 Book Challenge: Part 2

Standard

Click here for part 1 of this series, where I review the books picked for me.

At the start of this new year, my husband Josh and I decided to challenge each other to read 21 books the other had picked for them, in order with no switching. Because we both love reading and don’t want to take the joy away, we both chose books we knew the other would want to read, along with books we chose for various other reasons.

Here are the books I chose for Josh to read:

Chew, Vol. 1: Taster's Choice by John Layman

1.Chew by John Layman

He finished this comic book/graphic novel in a single setting. We are both looking forward to picking up the second.

2.We Gotta Get Out of This Place: The Soundtrack of the Vietnam War by Doug Bradley and Craig Werner

I bought this as a gift for my dad, who read it, enjoyed it, and sent it to us to read. It combines recent-ish American history, music, and commentary from someone who lived it. I’m excited to read this eventually, and I know Josh was interested, so I put it on his list. He’s reading it currently.

3.Not That Bad by Roxane Gay

I chose this for Josh’s list because I read it last year and “enjoyed” it, as much as one can enjoy a series of nonfiction essays written by people who survived living nightmares. I won’t say much more, as I don’t want to trigger anyone, but it’s of a sensitive topic and deals with how different people have handled their trauma: an important book for most people to read.

4. Freakonomics by Steven D. Levitt and Stephen J. Dubner

I included this on Josh’s list because I know he wanted to read it, and it’s such an interesting take on thinking of life’s challenges, problems, and big questions. I read it recently and really enjoyed it.

5.The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen omnibus edition by Alan Moore and Kevin O’Neill

Who doesn’t love this movie?! The hubby bought this graphic novel a short time ago, so I put it on his list so I can get to read it later this year, too. It’s a big book, but he should easily fly through it.

Murder at Camp Delta: A Staff Sergeant's Pursuit of the Truth About  Guantanamo Bay by Joseph Hickman (29-Jan-2015) Hardcover: Joseph Hickman:  Amazon.com: Books

6.Murder at Camp Delta: A Staff Sergeant’s Pursuit of the Truth About Guantanamo Bay by Joseph Hickman

I bought this book for Josh a few Christmases ago. It’s time he got around to reading it. I’m not going to get on a political soapbox about Guantanamo Bay, but I feel like my career-military dad will have a different opinion on this book than I will after we all read it.

7.What If by Randall Munroe

I picked this book for Josh because I thought it would be a quick, interesting read. It’s set up in a question-answer format, where each section is only a page or two long. I am also excited to read this…someday. I wonder if he’ll put it on my to-be-read list next year.

8.The Silence of the Lambs by Thomas Harris

When I read this book a couple years ago, I could not put it down. I am so excited for Josh to get to read it, too. Neither of us have read the first book in this series, but we have both seen the movie enough times to know what’s happening. If you haven’t read this, do it! It goes so fast and sticks with you.

9.Solutions and Other Problems by Allie Brosh

We both loved Hyperbole and a Half, so we decided to pick this one up and give it a chance. I thought Josh could use a little comical pick-me-up at about this point in the challenge.

The Warlock Insane (Warlock, #9) by Christopher Stasheff

10.The Warlock Insane by Christopher Stasheff

This is the next book in a series that Josh has been reading. I threw it in to help him continue reading it, because I’m a great wife.

11.My Best Friend’s Exorcism by Grady Hendrix

Have you ever bought a book based solely on the cover? We did, and now Josh will be reading it.

12.In Flanders Fields and Other Poems of the First World War by John McCrae

Since both of us are history and English teachers, we both greatly appreciate the beauty and power of the poem “In Flanders Fields.” I picked this book because it is will be invaluable for Josh to read while teaching.

13. The Princess Bride by William Goldman

This is one of my husband’s favorite movies. I thought he’d appreciate getting to read the book. I hope he’s not disappointed!

14.Gwendy’s Magic Feather by Richard Chizmar and Stephen King

One of Josh’s goals is to read every book Stephen King has written. I picked this one up over Christmas break so I thought it would be a perfect choice for this tbr.

15.Norse Mythology by Neil Gaiman

Another author Josh really likes is Neil Gaiman. I chose one off our shelves that he hasn’t read yet.

How We Lost the Vietnam War: Ky, Nguyen Cao: 9780815412229: Amazon.com:  Books

16.How We Lost the Vietnam War by Nguyen Cao Ky

Josh is a history guy, so I know he would have read this eventually. I put it on the list to speed up that process.

Two to the Fifth: An Adventure in the Land of Xanth - Kindle edition by  Anthony, Piers. Literature & Fiction Kindle eBooks @ Amazon.com.

17.Two to the Fifth by Piers Anthony

This is the next book Josh has to read in the Xanth series. Since it’s a lot of fun and a really quick read, I put it on his tbr after the long, serious Vietnam War book as sort of a palate cleanser.

18.20th Century Ghosts by Joe Hill

I bought this book a couple years ago, I think. I haven’t read it yet. But, being that we are such big King fans, I know Josh will want to give his son a try. Hopefully he enjoys it, but if he doesn’t, it will at least be a fairly quick read (a short story collection which is only 300 pages).

19.Seventh Decimate by Stephen R. Donaldson

This is the first book in a newer trilogy by Donaldson. Josh told me he was hesitant to start reading it because there is talk that the final book (I think it is) might not get published due to it being overly long and the publisher thinking people won’t want to read a long book (lol! — but seriously, I’m seething with rage). I told him that we already own the first two — there’s no sense boycotting at this point. But I may write someone a harshly-worded letter!

20.Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones

First of all, look at this cover! Who wouldn’t want to read this?! Second, we are both big fans of the author, so of course we want to check out such a cult classic. Third, it should be a quick read, because if I’m not mistaken it qualifies as a middle-grade. And isn’t there a movie? Maybe I’ll read it right after my challenge is done so we can have a movie night with popcorn and snuggles!

21.On Writing by Stephen King

At the risk of sounding like a broken record, we are big fans of Stephen King, and English teachers. To aid Josh’s efforts in the classroom as well as his personal goals, I thought this nonfiction “how to” type of book would be just the ticket.

Happy reading, love.

If you have read any of these books, let me know! I’d like to hear your thoughts.

Until next time, peace and love.

Leave a comment